Buddy in Africa

Directed by Ben Hardaway

I’m using a part of the title card because I couldn’t find an image from the high quality print used.

Release Date:

July 6, 1935

Main Character(s):

Buddy

Summary:

Buddy goes to Africa to sell some of his merchandise. A little monkey tries to steal some, so Buddy spanks him. The monkey gets an ape to go after Buddy.

That’s Not All, Folks:

This was the last Warner Bros. cartoon directed by Ben Hardaway until 1938.

What I Like About This One:

A native mowing the grass- which is actually the grass on top of his hut.

A giraffe being used as a traffic signal.

The musical number (despite containing a few gags that are politically incorrect), “With a Love Song in My Heart”, was quite good.

Buddy and the ape teaming up against the little monkey.

Where Can I Watch It?

At archive.org! (contains racial stereotypes; viewer discretion is advised).

Carrot Rating:

🥕🥕